Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Arizona Fall League MVP’s and the Future

Earlier this morning I discussed the possibility of the New York Yankees having a second MVP award winner from the Arizona Fall League in the last three seasons as Gleyber Torres seems to be the early candidate for the award in 2016. Greg Bird won the award in 2014 with a monster fall and we all watched as he burst onto the scene in 2015 in a big way with the big league club, could we be seeing that soon with Torres? Also, is there a direct correlation, at least lately, with Arizona Fall league success and success at the Major League level shortly thereafter?

To discuss this we have to see the list of recent AFL MVP’s. For simplicity sake we will go back to the last ten seasons of the Arizona Fall League and look at who won the MVP Award and what they did the following season to see if there is a pattern emerging.

2015 – Adam Engel

Reached AAA in 2016. Should make his MLB debut in 2017.

2014 – Greg Bird

We all watched as Bird burst onto the scene and became the “Birdman of New York” in 2015 taking over for the injured Mark Teixeira. His defense was good, his power was great and his poised was unmatched by anyone as a rookie since some kid named Derek Sanderson Jeter came up through the system. He was truly impressive in his short tenure before a shoulder injury derailed his 2016 campaign.

2013 – Kris Bryant

Can you say burst onto the scene in a big way, again? Bryant has been nothing but spectacular since reaching the Major Leagues and will likely have an MVP Award to sit beside his World Series trophy tomorrow night when the major awards are announced.

2012 – Chris McGuiness

2011 – Nolan Arenado

Arenado may be one of the best, if not the best, offensive third baseman in all of Major League Baseball right now. Sure he plays 81 games inside of Coors Field year in and year out but his splits are impressive on the road as well. Arenado should probably be a perennial MVP candidate in the National League for the foreseeable future.

2010 – Dustin Ackley

Ackley was a solid player in Seattle although he never shared the same successes as Arenado and Bryant. Ackley was doing well as a Yankee before another shoulder injury derailed his 2016 campaign as well. Ackley can still be a super utility player on any MLB team right now assuming the health of that shoulder.

2009 – Grant Desme

2008 – Tommy Hanson

Hanson pitched well for the Atlanta Braves before meeting an untimely demise as a member of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. Hanson was never an ace but he was a solid pitcher in Atlanta that had his entire career ahead of him before the injury bug hit him.

2007 – Sam Fuld

2006 – Chip Cannon


  1. I'M times.

    But if I came up with this me to
    the Creedmoor psych ctr. And, call a priest.

    This trade offer refers to a Mike Trout trade, put forward today, by a highly respected blog writer.....who lets you know he is on point with everything. Everything !
    An Italian gas bag, is your hint, as to whom wrote this.

    No, not an intelligent Greedy poster, like you!

    So here goes...
    Built on the premise that you want a player like Mike Trout, to
    build around as you go forward. Tempting, so far?

    These are the six Yankee prospects that are placed on the sacrificial alter....Bird, Frazier, Mateo, Sanchez, Sheffield, and Torres.

    My eyes starred at the screen, for a long time. Huh ?

    The Angels would do this in a heartbeat, while the Yankees would
    have no one left.....'to build around, going forward.'
    Unless you factor in... Hicks, Ellsbury, and Bob Turley.

    This is dumb.
    This is also Nov 16th, and a long way to go.
    Yes, this was offered up.

    1. That, my good friend, has got to be the dumbest move I have ever heard from a so-called expert blogger!
      Hell, why not keep them and trade everyone else...for one player! Is he better than a young A-Rod? I don't care who a player is, one guy is not worth 6 top Farm hands of that caliber.


Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)