Friday, November 17, 2017


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Most Valuable Player category Thursday, with the Houston Astros’ Jose Altuve winning the group’s American League award, and Giancarlo Stanton, of the Miami Marlins, being selected in the National League.
Altuve received 107 first-place votes (72.79%) and 1838 points while being named on 146 of 147 ballots (99.32%). Others receiving first-place votes include Aaron Judge (28), Mike Trout (7) and Francisco Lindor (2).
Stanton received 58 first-place votes (40%) and 1492 points while being named on 144 of 145 (97.96%) ballots. Others receiving first-place votes include Paul Goldschmidt (25), Nolan Arenado (20), Joey Votto (16), Charlie Blackmon (15) and Anthony Rendon (7).
Election results are as follows:
1st Place:                  Jose Altuve, Houston Astros – 1838 points
2nd Place:                 Aaron Judge , New York Yankees – 1341
3rd Place :                 
 Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – 1067
4th Place:                 Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Indians – 997
5th Place:                  Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians – 562
6th Place:                  Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians – 389
7th Place:                  Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox – 376 
8th Place:                  Chris Sale, Boston Red Sox – 280
9th Place:                 George Springer, Houston Astros – 207
10th Place:                Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – 202
1st Place:                  Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins – 1492 points
2nd Place:                 
Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks – 1115 
3rd Place
:                  Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds – 1025
4th Place:                  Charlie Blackmon , Colorado Rockies – 1003
5th Place:                  Nolan Arenado , Colorado Rockies – 959
6th Place:                  Anthony Rendon , Washington Nationals – 577
7th Place:                  Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs – 512
8th Place:                  Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers – 253
9th Place:                  Justin Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers – 243
10th Place:                Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals – 185
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
Among others, IBWAA members include Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Jon Heyman and Jesse Spector, Today’s Knuckleball; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Brian Kenny, MLBN; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; David Schoenfield of; Jim Bowden and Bill Arnold.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a $75 lifetime fee. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit

Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)