Monday, November 13, 2017


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its rookie category Monday, with the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger winning the 2017 IBWAA National League Rookie of the Year award unanimously, and Aaron Judge, of the New York Yankees, being selected as the 2017 IBWAA American League Rookie winner.
Bellinger received 146 first-place votes (100%) and 730 points.
Judge received 143 first-place votes (97.95%) and 721 points while being named on 145 of 146 ballots (98.64%). Others receiving first-place votes include Andrew Benintendi (2) and Jordan Montgomery (1).
Election results are as follows:
NL Rookie:
1st Place:                  Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers – 730 points
2nd Place:                 
Paul DeJong, St. Louis Cardinals – 163
3rd Place :                  
Josh Bell, Pittsburgh Pirates – 139
AL Rookie:
1st Place:                  Aaron Judge , New York Yankees – 721 points
2nd Place :                 
Andrew Benintendi, Boston Red Sox – 305
3rd Place
:                  Trey Mancini, Baltimore Orioles – 75
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
Among others, IBWAA members include Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Jon Heyman and Jesse Spector, Today’s Knuckleball; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Brian Kenny, MLBN; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; David Schoenfield of; Bill Bowden and Bill Arnold.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a $75 lifetime fee. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit

Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)