Monday, November 13, 2017


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its relief pitcher category Sunday, with the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Kenley Jansen winning the 2017 IBWAA Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Award for the second straight year, and Craig Kimbrel, of the Boston Red Sox, being selected as the 2017 IBWAA Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year.
Jansen received 124 first-place votes (87.94%) and 656 points while being named on 138 of 141 ballots (93.88%). Others receiving first-place votes include Corey Knebel (9), Archie Bradley (4) and Greg Holland (2).
Kimbrel received 131 first-place votes (91.61%) and 679 points while being named on 141 of 143 ballots (95.92%). Others receiving first-place votes include Alex Colome (9), Andrew Miller (1) and Dellin Betances (1).
The relief pitcher awards were established in 2010.
Election results are as follows:
NL Reief Pitcher:
1st Place:                  Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers – 656 points
2nd Place:                 
Corey Knebel, Milwaukee Brewers – 320
3rd Place :                  
Archie Bradley, Arizona Diamondbakcs – 77
3rd Place:                 Greg HollandColorado Rockies – 77
AL Relief Pitcher:
1st Place:                  Craig Kimbrel, Boston Red Sox – 679 points
2nd Place:                 
Alex Colome, Tampa Bay Rays – 151 
3rd Place
:                  Andrew Miller, Cleveland Indians – 101
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
Among others, IBWAA members include Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Jon Heyman and Jesse Spector, Today’s Knuckleball; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Brian Kenny, MLBN; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; David Schoenfield of; Bill Bowden and Bill Arnold.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a $75 lifetime fee. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit

Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)