Monday, July 9, 2012

2012 State Farm Home Run Derby

Your 2012 Home Run Derby Champion

It is that time of the year again. It is time for the 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby. Four of the best home run hitters from both the American League and the National League will go head to head and hopefully put on a show for the fans. Our very own Robinson Cano is the team captain for the American League and the defending Home Run Derby Champion.

The Home Run Derby will begin at 8 pm ET on ESPN (which really means like 8:45 after all the "festivities" and Chris Berman rants). The Home Run Derby would not be the same without him though so I cannot complain too much. 

 Here is the field of players.

American League

NYY Robinson Cano - 0 HRs
DET Prince Fielder - 5 HRs
TOR Jose Bautista - 11 HRs
ANA Mark Trumbo - 7 HRs

National League

COL Carlos Gonzalez - 4 HRs
PIT Andrew McCutchen - 2 HRs
STL Carlos Beltran - 7 HR's 
LAD Matt Kemp - 1 HR

I am going to go ahead and put my predictions down here on paper so everyone can see just how horrible I am at predicting these sorts of thing. I am going to pick Toronto's own Joey Bats Jose Bautista to beat out Cano to represent the American League in the finals. For the National League I have Carlos Gonzalez beating out Carlos Beltran to represent the National League in the finals. In the end I think Joey Bats puts on a show and wins the 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby.

The first round totals are above. I will try and keep up with the 2nd round below but I make no promises because I have a job (blogging does not pay? what???) and have to be up in like 7 hours and we're on the 3rd batter.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)