Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Herrera, Fowler, Coshow Take Home End of Season Awards


The Thunder, Double-A affiliate of the New York Yankees, announced today that starting pitcher Ronald Herrera has been named the winner of the Smith's ACE Hardware Pitcher of the Year award, outfielder Dustin Fowler is the recipient of the 2016 OxiClean "Dirtiest Uniform of the Season" award, and pitcher Cale Coshow is the recipient of the 2016 Samuel J. Plumeri, Sr. Community Service award. The awards were presented on Monday afternoon at ARM & HAMMER Park prior to the regular season finale against the Reading Fightin Phils.

The Smith's Ace Hardware Pitcher of the Year award was voted on by fans during the final month of the season. This year's winner, Ronald Herrera, went 10-7 with a 3.75 ERA in 23 starts for the Thunder. On April 26, Herrera threw eight no-hit innings as part of the second nine inning no-hitter in franchise history and was later named the Eastern League Pitcher of the Week for his performance. Herrera follows in the footsteps of pitchers Caleb Smith (2015), Jaron Long (2014), Nik Turley (2013), Brett Marshall (2012), and Shaeffer Hall (2011) as recipients of the award.

Dustin Fowler earned the OxiClean "Dirtiest Uniform of the Season" with endless determination and hustle on the field and played with a consistently dirty uniform. Fowler joins Tony Renda (2015), Ben Gamel (2014), Slade Heathcott (2013) and David Adams (2012) as winners of the "Dirtiest Uniform" award and will earn a years supply of OxiClean products.

The Samuel J. Plumeri, Sr. Community Service Award winner Cale Coshow has been a frequent participant in activities for Trenton Thunder charities. Coshow was a leader in community outreach programs with the Miracle League of Mercer County, the SKOR Camp at Hamilton-area YMCA Sawmill, the Trenton YMCA and in the Thunder's HOPE Week.

Coshow, who was selected for the award by Thunder management, joins Dan Fiorito (2015), Tyson Blaser (2014), Aaron Dott (2013), Craig Heyer (2012), Cory Arbiso (2011), Ryan Baker (2010), Noah Hall (2009), Joe Muich (2008), Jason Jones (2007), Jason Brown (2006), Ben Julianel (2005), Jason Grove (2004), Brian Myrow (2003), Mike Griffin (2002), Josh Garrett (2001), Marty McLeary (2000) and Brad Tweedlie (1999) as recipients of the award.

The Thunder will play playoff baseball at ARM & HAMMER Park against the Reading Fightin Phils on Wednesday, September 7 and Thursday, September 8 at 7:00pm. For tickets click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)