Thursday, November 17, 2016



Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Cy Young category Wednesday, with the Cleveland Indians’ Corey Kluber winning the group’s American League award, and Max Scherzer, of the Washington Nationals, being selected in the National League.

Scherzer received 81 first-place votes (45.76%) and 850 points while being named on 169 of 177 ballots (95.48%). Others receiving first-place votes include Jose Fernandez (30), Kyle Hendricks (20), Jon Lester (19), Clayton Kershaw (12) and Noah Syndergaard (10).

Kluber received 56 first-place votes (31.82%) and 727 points while being named on 163 of 176 ballots (92.09%). Others receiving first-place votes include Rick Porcello (55), Justin Verlander (22), Zach Britton (21) and Chris Sale (19).

Election results are as follows:

AL Cy Young:

1st Place: Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians – 727 points
2nd Place: Rick Porcello, Boston Red Sox – 719
3rd Place : Justin Verlander, Oakland A’s – 454
4th Place: Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox – 383
5th Place: Zach Britton, Baltimore Orioles – 314

NL Cy Young:

1st Place: Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals – 850 points
2nd Place: Jon Lester, Chicago Cubs – 454
3rd Place: Kyle Hendricks, Chicago Cubs – 442
4th Place: Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins – 378
5th Place: Noah Syndergaard , New York Mets – 251

Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

Among approximately 460 others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Schoenfield and Mark A. Simon of; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Jon Heyman, Today’s Knuckleball; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs, Jesse Spector, Sporting News; and Bill Arnold.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a lifetime fee of $75. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

Reminder: The IBWAA is distinct from the BBWAA, which will announce the official Cy Young Award winners on the MLB Network at 3:00 p.m. PT today.

For more information please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)