Friday, October 5, 2012

Blown Call?

An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted
bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or
first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any
outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for
the purpose of this rule.

When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall
immediately declare “Infield Fly” for the benefit of the runners. If the ball is near the
baselines, the umpire shall declare “Infield Fly, if Fair.”

That is from the the official Major League Baseball rule book. And by that definition, the call was right. The only thing questionable about the call was whether it was late or not, but that didn't affect the outcome of the call anyway. The runners not only advanced to 2nd and 3rd, but they were allowed to stay there.

Actually, the only way the call was wrong is if you think Cardinal shortstop Pete Kozma did something extraordinary in order to get into position to make that play, and without needing to dive or make an over-the-shoulder catch. That's not how I saw it, as Kozma was there to make the catch, and ran off when he was spooked by something (the ump yelling the call, the left fielder calling him off... I don't know). 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)