Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Thunder Announce 2014 End of Season Award Winners

The Thunder announced today that Starting Pitcher Jaron Long has been named the winner of the Smith's ACE Hardware Pitcher of the Year award, Catcher Tyson Blaser is the recipient of the 2014 Samuel Plumeri, Sr. Community Service Award and outfielder Ben Gamel is the winner of the 2014 Oxi Clean "Dirtiest Uniform of the Season" Award. The awards were presented in an on-field ceremony prior to the season finale against Reading on Monday afternoon at ARM & HAMMER Park.

The Smith's ACE Hardware Pitcher of the Year award was voted on by the fans during the final month of the season. This year's winner, Jaron Long, had a 7-2 record with a 2.35 ERA in 11 games for Trenton this season. Starting Pitchers Nik Turley (2013) Brett Marshall (2012), Schaeffer Hall (2011), and Relief Pitcher Josh Schmidt (2010) are the previous winners of the honor.

Samuel Plumeri, Sr. Community Service Award winner Tyson Blaser has been a frequent participant in activities for Trenton Thunder Charities. He helped coach at Thunder youth clinics and camps and has been a regular volunteer for outreach opportunities around the ballpark and in the community including Trenton Thunder HOPE Week. The Samuel Plumeri Sr. Community Service Award winner is chosen by Thunder Management.
Blaser joins Brad Tweedlie (1999), Marty McLeary (2000), Josh Garrett (2001), Mike Griffin (2002), Brian Myrow (2003), Jason Grove (2004), Ben Julianel (2005), Jason Brown (2006), Jason Jones (2007), Joe Muich (2008), Noah Hall (2009), Ryan Baker (2010), Cory Arbiso (2011), Craig Heyer (2012), and Aaron Dott (2013) as winners of the Sam Plumeri Sr. Community Service Award.

The winner of the Trenton Thunder Oxi Clean "Dirtiest Uniform of the Season" award is Outfielder Ben Gamel. Gamel’s grit, determination and hustle in the field and on the basepaths, saw him coming off the field with the dirtiest uniform night after night. He has won a year's supply of Oxi Clean products. Slade Heathcott (2013) and David Adams (2012) are the previous winners of the "Dirtiest Uniform" award.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)