Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Johnson, Pedro, Biggio & Smoltz Elected to Hall

For the first time since 1955 the Baseball Writers Association of America has elected at least four players into the Hall of Fame in one class. The 2015 class includes Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, Craig Biggio and John Smoltz. The trio of pitchers being elected in one year marks the first time that has ever happened in the Hall and BBWAA history as well.

Johnson received 97.3% of the vote while Biggio landed 82.7% of the vote after falling just two votes shy in 2014. Martinez garnered 91.1% of the vote and Smoltz finished out the class by gathering 82.9% of the vote from the writers. Congratulations to all four of these men, I don't see anyone I would have left off my ballot.

Don Mattingly received just 9.1% of the vote in his final season while former Yankees Roger Clemens (37.5%), Tim Raines (55.0%), Mike Mussina (24.6%) and Gary Sheffield (11.7%) all received enough votes to stay on the ball next season.

For the complete list CLICK HERE.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)