Friday, December 18, 2015

Miller, McCann Abbott Thurman Munson Award Honorees for 2015

This year’s Thurman Munson Award honorees were announced this week and three either current or former members of the New York Yankees were honored. Those three men were former Yankees pitcher Jim Abbott as well as current Yankees Andrew Miller and Brian McCann. This will be the 36th annual Thurman Munson Awards and they will take place February 9, 2016 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

Abbott was nominated because of his work and inspiration for people with disabilities. Abbott was born with only one hand and still managed to pitch in the Major Leagues and even threw a no-hitter while wearing a Yankees uniform. The awards and benefit help with children and adults who have intellectual and developmental disabilities in New York City. This organization and benefit was started by Dian Munson, Thurman’s widow, and she has attended all 35 award ceremonies prior.

Other men who will be nominated are New York Mets closer Jeurys Familia and 1986 World Series champion Jesse Orosco from the Miracle Mets. The “Voice of the Yankees” Michael Kay will be the Master of the Ceremonies at the event. For tickets call 212-249-6188, email or jump online at

How awkward would it be if Miller were to return for the awards as a member of the other team?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)