Monday, November 10, 2014


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in the relief pitcher category Sunday, with the Atlanta Braves’ Craig Kimbrel winning the group’s National League Hoyt Wilhelm Relief Pitcher of the Year Award, and Greg Holland, of the Kansas City Royals, being selected as the American League Rollie Fingers Relief Pitcher of the Year.
The IBWAA established the relief pitcher awards in 2010. Kimbrel wins for the fourth consecutive year; Holland for the second straight year.
Election results are as follows:
AL Relief Pitcher
1st Place:                  Greg Holland , Kansas City Royals
nd Place:                 
Dellin Betances, New York Yankees
3rd Place:                  Wade Davis, Kansas City Royals
NL Relief Pitcher
1st Place:                  Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
nd Place:                 
Aroldis Chapman, Cincinnati Reds
rd Place:                  Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates.
Below is the remaining IBWAA Awards announcement schedule:
Rookie, Monday, November 10, 2014, 11:00 a.m. PST.
Manager, Tuesday, November 11, 2014, 11:00 a.m. PST.
Cy Young, Wednesday, November 12, 2014, 11:00 a.m. PST.
MVP, Thursday, November 13, 2014, 11:00 a.m. PST.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Mike Petriello, David Schoenfield, Mark A. Simon and Dan Szymborski,; Kevin Baxter Los Angeles Times; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; King Kaufman, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy, Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Jonah Keri, Grantland; Vlae Kershner,; Chuck Culpepper and Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Jill Painter Lopez,, Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Mark Purdy, San Jose Mercury News; Eno Sarris and Wendy Thurm, FanGraphs; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Orange County Register; Neil Payne,, Tracy Ringolsby,, Ken Rosenthal,, Dan Schlossberg, USA Today and Jesse Spector, Sporting News.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20, or $35 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)