Friday, April 3, 2015

Slade Heathcott Wins James P. Dawson Award

The New York Yankees give their best rookie in spring camp an annual award with Masahiro Tanaka winning the award for the team in 2014 while the 2015 recipient of the James P. Dawson Award was announced today. The winner of the award was the Yankees outfielder Slade Heathcott after a very strong spring before being sent down to Triple-A with the Scranton Wilkes-Barre RailRiders.

Heathcott beat out a very impressive group of rookies including Jacob Lindgren, Jose Pirela and Robert Refsnyder with a .355/.459/.581 triple slash with seven RBI and three stolen bases. Congratulations to Mr. Heathcott. The talent was always there for Slade but the consistency and his health always held him back and he may have finally put it all together this season, not a season too soon.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)