Saturday, April 2, 2016

Predicting the AL & NL Cy Young Award Winners

And so begins the meat and potatoes of the award predictions here on The Greedy Pinstripes, the American League and National League Cy Young Award winners. This award goes out to the best pitcher, either starter or reliever although it is generally reserved for starting pitchers, in each league every single season so who will win it this season? Truth be told I have no idea, so much can happen between then and now, but here is who I predict right now.

The award, as much as I hate to say this, has to go to the Boston Red Sox ace David Price. Give David Price two runs of support or more and on most days that’s in the bag. While Boston did little to improve their offense on paper their core is getting a year older and closer to their prime while Hanley Ramirez and Pablo Sandoval almost can’t be as bad or worse for Boston then they were in 2015. The Cy Young can be an individual award sometimes more so than a team award and Price is the kind of pitcher to throw you eight or nine innings and win the game himself or hand it off to Craig Kimbrel in the 9th. Price for Cy Young, again.

In the National League the award has to go the new ace of the staff in Pittsburgh, and former New York Yankees draft pick, Gerrit Cole. Cole is an elite starter with an elite defense behind him and an offense that can win him games even on his off nights. Cole won 19 games last season with a 2.60 ERA and it seemed like many didn’t blink an eye thanks to Jake Arrieta, they will blink an eye this season as Cole takes the next step forward in his career. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)