Wednesday, April 9, 2014

AL & NL Best Reliever Awards Named For Mariano Rivera & Trevor Hoffman

Major League Baseball just announced that yearly the best relief pitchers in the American League and the National League will be named after the two men with the most saves in the history of the game, Trevor Hoffman and Mariano Rivera. Obviously the best in the AL will receive the Rivera award and the best in the NL will receive the Hoffman award after both men spent their entire careers in their respective leagues.

Mariano Rivera retired as the All Time saves leader with 652 saves, all for the New York Yankees, as Trevor Hoffman finished his San Diego Padres, Milwaukee Brewers, and Florida Marlins career with 602 saves, second most in Major League history.

The new awards will be given out at the end of the 2014 season and will replace the MLB's Delivery Man of the Year Award. The award will be determined by a vote of other great relievers with Rivera and Hoffman being joined by Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Goose Gossage, Lee Smith, John Franco, Billy Wagner, and Bruce Sutter. The nine voters will rank the top three in each league based solely on regular season performance and will use a 5-3-1 weighted points system to determine the winner.

My colleague and friend Bryan Van Dusen said he would not sleep until an award was named after the great Mariano Rivera. Well Bryan, sleep tight my friend.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)