Tuesday, November 10, 2015

2016 Hall of Fame Ballot as Impressive as 2015

The 2015 Hall of Fame ballot for Major League Baseball was one of the most impressive ballots you will see in all of sports. When all was said and done and the ink was dry four members stepped into the Hall including Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smiltz and Craig Biggio. As impressive as the 2015 ballot was the 2016 ballot is shaping up to be just as exciting Ken Griffey Jr. and Trevor Hoffman highlight the new 2016 class.

Joining the already stacked class of Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Jeff Bagwell, Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa is Griffey Jr., Hoffman, David Eckstein, Troy Glaus, Mike Hampton, Mike Lowell and Billy Wagner. Hall of Fame voters have been cut from 600 to 450 after the Hall’s board enacted a rule that eliminated writers who had not been active in the game for more than 10 years.

Griffey is a 13-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove Award winner who also hit 630 home runs and won the AL MVP unanimously in 1997. Hoffman was the career leader in saves before Mariano Rivera passed him at 601 saves. Hoffman is also a seven-time All Star for the San Diego Padres.

Just as a reminder a player must receive 75% of the vote to achieve Hall of Fame status. Final tallies will be revealed on January, 6 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)