Thursday, September 21, 2017

Looking Back at TGP’s 2017 Predictions: Cy Young Award Winners

Predicting the Cy Young Award can be a bit easier and is probably one of the “easiest” predictions to make historically. There is always that group of pitchers that perennially dominant hitters while they are in their primes and two of those pitchers were picked in this set of predictions. While nothing is set in stone at this time it looks like I will likely get both of these predictions wrong but I feel like both of my picks will be in either the top two or three of the AL and NL Cy Young Award voting so I am okay with that. At least it wasn’t a total bomb like that Tyler Glasnow pick.

It is likely that Chris Sale of the Boston Red Sox will win the Cy Young Award here in 2017 leaving Kluber just behind a Red Sox pitcher for the second consecutive year, last season Rick Porcello of the Red Sox won the award with Kluber right on his heels. In the National League it looks like it will either be Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals or Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers taking home the awards. On most of the sabermetric sites and prediction sites that plug in stats and variables into a computer to garner a likelihood of winning the award type stat they have Scherzer winning the award but with two-or-three starts left for each pitcher it could go down to the wire. Stay tuned.

Thursday, April 6, 2017

TGP 2017 MLB Predictions: Cy Young Winners

If you’re a pitcher coming up as a kid in Little League, as a High School player, a college player or even as a professional in the minor leagues your ultimate goal is always to reach the Major Leagues and win a Cy Young Award. There’s only one per league every single season so most pitchers will never get that honor but in my opinion these two men from the Cleveland Indians and Los Angeles Dodgers respectively will reach that ultimate goal and have that ultimate honor bestowed upon them. Keep reading to find out who I’m talking about although I have a feeling by naming the teams that you already have an idea of who I am going to choose.

American League Cy Young Award: Corey Kluber

So I've already predicted that the Cleveland Indians would win the American League Central Division with the best record in the American League and I've already predicted that all those wins would equate into manager Terry Francona winning the AL Manager of the Year Award but who is going to carry the team to that over the course of a 162-game schedule? His name is Corey Kluber and he is an absolute animal on the mound. Kluber was one of the best starters last season, although he lost out on the award to 20+ game winner Rick Porcello of the Boston Red Sox, but he will not be denied in 2017 as he is set up to put up another strong campaign this season. 

National League Cy Young Award: Clayton Kershaw

I could go on and on about all the numerous reasons why Clayton Kershaw will once again find a way to get better and find a way to win another Cy Young Award for the National League but I have a better idea. Name a reason or two, and yes there are including his injury history as of late, of why he won't win the award at this point in his career. Leave them below in the comments section or drop us a line on Twitter by following @GreedyStripes. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)