Thursday, November 13, 2014


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Cy Young category Wednesday, with the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw winning the group’s National League award, and Felix Hernandez, of the Seattle Mariners, being selected in the American League.
Kershaw, in winning his second straight IBWAA Cy Young election, was a unanimous selection, receiving all 158 first-place votes.
Hernandez received 69 first-place votes, 815 points, and was named on 156 ballots. Kluber received 75 first-place votes, 765 points, while being named on 149 ballots.
Election results are as follows:
NL Cy Young
1st Place:                  Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers – unanimous, 1106 points
nd Place:                 
Johnny Cueto, Cincinnati Reds – 513 points
3rd Place:                  
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals – 470 points
4th Place:                  Madison Bumgarner, San Francisco Giants – 179 points
5th Place:                  Jordan Zimmermann, Washington Nationals – 73 points
AL Cy Young
1st Place:                  Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners – 69 first-place votes, 815 points
nd Place:                 
Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians – 75 first-place votes, 765 points
3rd Place:                  Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox – 11 first-place votes, 435 points
4th Place:                  Jon Lester, Oakland Athletics – 221 points
5th Place:                  Max Scherzer, Detroit Tigers – two first-place votes, 192 points
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
Below is the remaining IBWAA Awards announcement schedule:
MVP, Thursday, November 13, 2014, 11:00 a.m. PST.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.

Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Mike Petriello, David Schoenfield, Mark A. Simon andDan Szymborski,; Kevin Baxter Los Angeles Times; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; King Kaufman, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy, Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Jonah Keri, Grantland; Vlae Kershner,; Chuck Culpepper and Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Jill Painter Lopez,, Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Mark Purdy, San Jose Mercury News; Eno Sarris and Wendy Thurm, FanGraphs; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Orange County Register; Neil Payne,, Tracy Ringolsby,, Ken Rosenthal,, Dan Schlossberg, USA Today and Jesse Spector, Sporting News.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20, or $35 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit


Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)