Thursday, November 19, 2015


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Cy Young category Wednesday, with the Houston Astros’ Dallas Keuchel winning the group’s American League award, and Jake Arrieta, of the Chicago Cubs, being selected in the National League.
Keuchel received 92 first-place votes (51.40%) and 956 points while being named on 175 of 179 ballots (97.22%). Others receiving first-place votes include David Price (80), Chris Sale (5) and Sonny Gray (2).
Arrieta received 79 first-place votes (43.89%) and 930 points while being named on 178 of 180 ballots (98.89%). Others receiving first-place votes include Zack Greinke (68), Clayton Kershaw (31) and Max Scherzer (2).
Election results are as follows:
AL Cy Young:
1st Place:                  Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros – 956 points
nd Place:                 
David Price, Toronto Blue Jays – 904 
3rd Place:                  
Sonny Gray, Oakland A’s – 351
4th Place:                 Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox – 282
5th Place:                 Chris Archer, Tampa Bay Rays – 227
NL Cy Young:
1st Place:                  Jake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs – 930 points
nd Place:                 
Zack Greinke, Los Angeles Dodgers – 851 
3rd Place
:                  Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers – 655
4th Place:                 Gerrit Cole, Pittsburgh Pirates – 184
5th Place:                 Max Scherzer , Washington Nationals – 169
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.

Among approximately 400 others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, David Schoenfield and Mark A. Simon of; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; King Kaufman, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Mark Purdy, San Jose Mercury News; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Orange County Register; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; Dan Schlossberg, USA Today; Jesse Spector, Sporting News and Wendy Thurm.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20, or $35 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit


Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)