Friday, November 14, 2014


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its MVP category Thursday, with the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim’s Mike Trout winning the group’s American League award, and Clayton Kershaw, of the Los Angeles Dodgers, being selected in the National League.
Trout received 145 first-place votes (91.77%) while being named on all 158 ballots. Others to garner first-place votes include Victor Martinez (5), Jose Altuve (3), Jose Abreu (2), Miguel Cabrera (1), Robinson Cano (1), Nelson Cruz (1) and Alex Gordon (1).
Kershaw received 105 first-place votes (66.04%) while being named on 141 ballots (88.68%). Giancarlo Stanton received 26 first-place votes (16.35%) and was named on 157 ballots (98.74%). Others receiving first-place votes include Andrew McCutchen (24), Justin Upton (2), Jonathan Lucroy (1) and Justin Morneau (1).
Election results are as follows:
1st Place:                  Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – 2141 points2nd Place:                 Victor Martinez, Detroit Tigers – 927 
3rd Place:                  
Michael Brantley, Cleveland Indians – 726
4th Place:                  Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox – 658
5th Place:                  Robinson Cano, Seattle Mariners – 597
6th Place:                  Josh Donaldson, Oakland Athletics – 583
7th Place:                  Jose Altuve, Houston Astros – 560 
8th Place:                  Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays – 533
9th Place:                 Nelson Cruz, Baltimore Orioles – 447
10th Place:                Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers – 437
1st Place:                  Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers – 1762 points
nd Place:                 
Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins – 1430 
3rd Place
:                  Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates – 1365
4th Place:                  Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants – 769
5th Place:                  Jonathan Lucroy, Milwaukee Brewers – 758
6th Place:                  Anthony Rendon , Washington Nationals – 619
7th Place:                  Josh Harrison, Pittsburgh Pirates – 286
8th Place:                  Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles Dodgers – 246
9th Place:                  Adrian Gonzalez, Los Angeles Dodgers – 241
10th Place:                Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee Brewers – 224
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.

Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Mike Petriello, David Schoenfield, Mark A. Simon andDan Szymborski,; Kevin Baxter Los Angeles Times; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; King Kaufman, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy, Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Jonah Keri, Grantland; Vlae Kershner,; Chuck Culpepper and Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Jill Painter Lopez,, Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Mark Purdy, San Jose Mercury News; Eno Sarris and Wendy Thurm, FanGraphs; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Orange County Register; Neil Payne,, Tracy Ringolsby,, Ken Rosenthal,, Dan Schlossberg, USA Today and Jesse Spector, Sporting News.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20, or $35 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit


Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Sorry for the Capatcha... Blame the Russians :)